Command disabled: backlink


ESA 2008
16th Annual European Symposium on Algorithms
September 15-17, 2008
Universität Karlsruhe, Germany

Important Dates

Submission deadline: April 4, 2008
Notification to authors: May 30, 2008
Final version due: June 30, 2008
Symposium: September 15-17, 2008


The final program can be found here.


The symposium covers research in the use, design and analysis of efficient algorithms and data structures in computer science, discrete applied mathematics, operations research and mathematical programming. It has two tracks, which deal respectively with:

  • the design and mathematical analysis of algorithms (the “Design and Analysis” track);
  • real-world applications, engineering and experimental analysis of algorithms (the “Engineering and Applications” track).

ESA 2008 is sponsored by EATCS (the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science) and organized in the context of ALGO 2008.


Papers presenting original research in all areas of algorithmic research are sought, including but not limited to:

  • Algorithmic Aspects of Networks
  • Approximation and On-line Algorithms
  • Computational Biology
  • Computational Finance and Algorithmic Game Theory
  • Computational Geometry
  • Data Structures
  • Databases and Information Retrieval
  • External-Memory Algorithms
  • Streaming Algorithms, Graph and Network Algorithms
  • Graph Drawing
  • Machine Learning
  • Mobile and Distributed Computing
  • Pattern Matching and Data Compression
  • Quantum Computing
  • Randomized Algorithms
  • Algorithm Libraries

The algorithms may be sequential, distributed or parallel. Submissions are especially encouraged in the areas of mathematical programming and operations research, including Combinatorial Optimization, Integer Programming, Polyhedral Combinatorics and Network Optimization.

Accepted Papers

a list of accepted papers (both tracks) can be found here.


Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract or full paper of at most 12 pages. The paper should contain a succinct statement of the issues and of their motivation, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance, accessible to non-specialist readers. Proofs omitted due to space constraints can be put into an appendix to be read by the program committee members at their discretion. Papers must be submitted electronically.

The easychair submission server is now closed.

Simultaneous submission to other conferences with published proceedings, or to both tracks of ESA 2008, is not permitted. A paper will only be considered at the track where it was submitted. Authors are expected to present their accepted papers at the conference. ESA 2008 offers the EATCS award for the best student paper at ESA 2008. Please indicate student paper on the front page of the submission if all authors are students. ESA also offers the EATCS best paper award acknowledging the best ESA contribution of the year.


Accepted papers will be published in the Springer series Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Each paper will receive an allotment of 12 pages in the proceedings in LNCS-style. Previous proceedings of ESA, 2001 in Aarhus, 2002 in Rome, 2003 in Budapest, 2004 in Bergen, 2005 in Mallorca, 2006 in Zürich, and 2007 in Eilat appeared as LNCS 2161, 2461, 2832, 3221, 3669, 4168, and 4698. Previous proceedings of the precursor to the Engineering and Applications track, the Workshop on Algorithm Engineering, held in 1999 in London, 2000 in Saarbrücken and 2001 in Aarhus, appeared as LNCS 1668, 1982 and 2141.

Program Committee

Design and Analysis Track
Yossi Azar, Tel Aviv U.
Xiaotie Deng, City U. of Hong Kong
Lisa Fleischer, Dartmouth
Gianni Franceschini, U. of Pisa
Naveen Garg, IIT, Dehli
Johan Haastad, KTH, Stockholm
Christian Knauer, FU Berlin
Kazuhisa Makino, U. of Tokyo
Kurt Mehlhorn, MPII Saarbrücken (Chair)
Rasmus Pagh, IT U. of Copenhagen
Katarzyna Paluch, U. of Wroclaw
Mike Paterson, U. of Warwick
Nicole Schweikardt, HU Berlin
Stephen Kobourov, U. of Arizona

Engineering and Applications Track
David Applegate, AT&T Labs – Research
Esther M. Arkin, SUNY, Stony Brook
Hagit Attiya, Technion, Haifa
David Coudert, INRIA, Sophia-Antipolis
Camil Demetrescu, U. of Rome “La Sapienza”
Rolf Fagerberg, U. of Southern Denmark
Joachim Gudmundsson, NICTA, Sydney
Dan Halperin, Tel Aviv U. (Chair)
Michael Hoffmann, ETH, Zurich
Marco Lübbecke, TU, Berlin
Renato Werneck, Microsoft Research, Silicon Valley

esa.txt · Last modified: 2008/09/14 16:05 by delling Creative Commons License Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki do yourself a favour and use a real browser - get firefox!! Recent changes RSS feed Valid XHTML 1.0